Posted by: husbandandfatheroffour | May 17, 2013

May 17, 1997

You ever dream of that perfect day.  You know when the sky is the perfect type of blue and the sun has that perfect glow and warmth to it.  Landscapes are exploding with the fragrance and colors of spring flowers and the trees are not fully bloomed but are blooming enough to provide shade.  It is one of those days you just stand there taking in the warmth of the sun on your face, the smell of the flowers in the air, and you look towards heaven and thank God for that perfect day. 

That day happened for me 16 years ago.  I was 20 years old and just the day before while maybe seeming calm I was a nervous wreck.  I wanted to make sure what I was doing was the right thing.  Just like everyone does at this time of their life, I questioned myself.  I asked myself if I was too young, if it felt right, and even though I loved her was I ready to take this step with her.  That day flew by and with everything I did I just kept asking myself those questions over and over.  I was waiting on some kind of sign or for someone to say the right words, to tell me I was doing the right thing.  It wasn’t until the next day that I got my answer; May 17th, 1997.

That morning was a blur.  I had to make sure my obligations for the morning were done and then I had to get ready.  I arrived at the lake and made sure I did everything I was instructed to do.  Then everyone started arriving and taking their seats and before I knew it I was standing on the stage at the amphitheater that over looked the lake.  The time was here and no sign or words of wisdom put me at ease.  Those questions bounced around in my head until the music started to play and she walked out.

It was then that I noticed how beautiful that day was, just how perfect the sky, the sun, the flowers, and the trees were.  She was so radiant and beautiful and as she walked down the aisle towards me, it was as if life around us had stopped and it was just the two of us there on this perfect day.  When she took my hand it was as if our souls intertwined knowing that they would never part again from each other.  As we stood there hand in hand, it felt as if God was cupping our hands with His.  All my fears and my questions were erased.  His answer came at the perfect time just like always. 

Today is our 16th wedding anniversary and to this day I have never had quite the perfect day that I did then.  I told her last year that our life together is a love story but it is more than that.  Our life together is a perfect creation, a masterpiece of art, a life built with God’s love.  No matter what our fears or worries are I know God is still cupping our hands, I know our souls are still intertwined, and I know every minute of  my life I grow more and more in love with her.

Mariah,

I love you with every heartbeat, every breath, and with every ounce of love that God gives me.      

Happy 16th Anniversary! 

Responses

  1. I love you too. You shouldn’t make your wife cry on your anniversary though…really bad ettiquette.


Leave a Reply

Categories

