Posted by: husbandandfatheroffour | October 11, 2013

Time To Teach Our Kids To Be Helpers And Not Bystanders

Headlines:
Shoppers step over, video, dying woman
Hospital workers ignore dying woman in waiting room
EMT’s on break refuse to help dying woman, tell crowd to call 911
People walk by, ignore dying ‘Good Samaritan’ hit by car
12 neighbors hears screams but do not call police as woman is beaten
Parents claim bullying ignored
Bystanders watch as blind man gets beaten, no one calls 911
Cop beaten as bystanders watch, no one calls 911

As I saw these headlines I was shocked.  When I read the articles I was appalled.  All of these stories have one thing in common; no one stepped in to help or even call for help.  You can find articles like this all over the internet.  When I think about these news stories I just can’t believe no one stepped in to help these people.  It is very understandable if you are afraid because you think it would put your life in jeopardy to physically jump in but to not even call for help is beyond deplorable.  Is the humanity, compassion, kindness, concern, and love for one another fading away?  Have we become a world where the only thing that matters is me, me, me?  How do we stop that type of thinking?

As a father this concerns me tremendously.  I don’t want my kids growing up in a world that when they need help it won’t be there.  I also don’t want them to be the bystanders that stand around and do nothing when someone is in need of help.  We have to change the way our children think when it comes to others.  The world has made it easy and convenient for people to only think of themselves and their needs.  As fathers it is our job to change that.  How you ask?  By teaching our children that compassion, kindness, concern for others, and love are just as important if not more important than ourselves.

I have four children and to think that one day they might need help and there is no one there to help them frightens me.  It frightens me just as much to think that they could be a bystander that just stands there or walks on by when someone else needs help, not even taking the time to call 911.  I find it my number one duty as a father is to teach my children to be kind and love others.  I want them to grow up not being afraid to defend the weak or help the sick.  Compassion for others has to overrule anything else.  I want our children to think about others before their selves.  I want them to be encouraged to be the first to step in when their help is needed and not wait for someone else to do it.  I want them to hold doors open for others, smile at passersby, and be willing to give a helping hand when needed.  I want our children to run towards the accident to help when there is no emergency personnel there to help yet.  If they see someone in trouble or hear someone in trouble I want them to immediately pull their phones out to call 911 and not to video-record it.  If someone needs their assistance, I want them to stop and help them and not just walk by.  It is our job to teach our kids to be helpers, not bystanders. 

I want my children to be scared of what the world can become if we become a civilization of people that don’t care anymore.  They need to know that in a “me only” or “me first” society, life would not be worth living here on earth.  In fact I will teach my children that God’s second greatest commandment is to love your neighbor as yourself.  I know I have struggled with that at times and I know that they will but if we can teach our kids sooner and with greater importance than our parents did they will become better at it.  Then they will teach their children who in turn will teach their children and from there they can grow this world into a world of compassion and love.  I know some of you might read this and think that is impossible, but why is that?  Everything is possible, especially with God’s help.  If we tell our kids that something like this is impossible then we are telling them that there are limits on how much they can change the world.  We are telling them that no matter how much you try, how much effort you give, and no matter how much you believe in something the chance of it being impossible is just as real.  That will make them stop in situations and think if it is even worth their time to help someone.  If it can not benefit the world then what is the point in helping right?  NO!  It should be the opposite of that, it should be that no matter what your idea, your plan, or your goal on making this world a better place is, a world of loving and caring for people, it is attainable.  Anything else will make them doubt, hesitate, or even just ignore the situation.       

I just know if we teach our children to become more compassionate and loving than we are, they have a chance to live in a better world than we do. I also know if we can inspire their generation to become more kindhearted than our generation, then the headlines above would become less and less.  So I am urging all you fathers out there to take time to instill into your children the importance of being compassionate and loving towards others.  I also advocate for us to become more concerned, devoted, and attentive towards others and to show our children by action, not just by words, that we all can make this world a better place. 

Philippians 2:4 – Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.

Leave a Reply

Categories

