Posted by: husbandandfatheroffour | May 17, 2016

19 Years and Counting

I close my eyes and I can see it clearly.  I am 21 and you just turned 20.  We were too young and because we were too young we wouldn’t have a chance to make it.  Young people just don’t understand what love is.  They are probably doing this for the idea of love but not for real love.  People our age were just getting married for the spectacle of it all and a few years down the road it would be all over.  Why don’t these young pups just wait a few years and live life a little until they understand what love is.  It isn’t like it was in the old days; you know where you married that person and it was meant to be forever.  No, this generation of youngsters just didn’t understand the concept of marriage and that is why the divorce rate was going up.

Those were the things being said about our generation and marriage at such a young age.  The world didn’t give us a chance and at times I would wonder before the wedding if our family and friends really did.  In the end though none of that mattered, because I didn’t just love you I was in love with you.  I had always known that once I fell in love and wanted to marry the person I fell in love with that it would be for the rest of my life. 

There you stood across from me shaking, looking nervous, but most of all looking beautiful.  Everything was perfect that day.  The sky was the most beautiful brightest blue that I had ever seen.  The temperature was perfect for an outdoor wedding.  My family and your family were seated around the amphitheater to watch us, and you right there in front of me.  God had given us the perfect day!

You smiled and everything around me disappeared except you.  I don’t know if I ever told you this but when we held hands to exchange the rings and say the vows I felt our souls connect.  I knew right then and there that no matter what situation would arise that we would conquer it and come out of it a better husband and wife, and we have for 19 years and counting! 

For nineteen years I have felt that connection grow stronger and stronger.  I have felt my love for you grow deeper and deeper.  For 19 years my life has continued to be better and better because of you.  For nineteen years you have continued to make me a better person.  You make me believe in myself, you make me laugh, you make me think, and you make me feel loved.   

I am lucky because I have found the love of my lifetime.  There are a lot of people who go through this life without finding true love but not me, I have.  God has blessed me not only with His love but with finding you and experiencing your love for me.  I love you more than any amount of words could possibly express.  I love you more than I could ever possibly explain.  Thank you for loving me and being my wife for 19 years and counting!   Happy 19th wedding anniversary!  I Love You!   
       

Leave a Reply

Categories

